The day I ruled the world

September 13, 2008 at 3:02 pm (Personal) (, )

I’ve had my shower. I’ve snuggled with the cat. I’ve poured myself a cup of coffee and taken a couple bites out of the last blueberry muffin. Three days old, not as tasty as the others were. I finished my book this morning as well. It was the first thing I did when Rob closed the door behind him. I couldn’t wait to get to the end, to find out how things finished for Holly. Of course, now that I’m done with it, I wish I’d read a lot slower. It kept me going through the long work week. Really good fluff will do that.

If it was a normal Saturday I’d be snuggling on the couch with Rob right now, arguing with him over how we should spend the day. I think this is the first time since moving to Halifax that we haven’t spent the whole weekend together. It’s sad, sad that I haven’t a clue what to do with myself on my own. If I had friends here I would call someone to meet up for coffee or an afternoon of shopping. But I haven’t met anyone like that yet. I tried watching Mrs. Winterbourne on Bravo but the film was just too horrible. Rikki Lake should never have ventured into acting. Her accent, her mannerisms, the were all so robotic and awful. She looked like she’d just wandered onto the set of a Shirley McLaine movie by mistake. Which is too bad, really, because I was excited to discover Brenden Fraser was in it – sometimes that man makes some screwed up career choices. Mrs. Winterbourne was truly one of those choices.

This muffin is really quite disgusting. I think it might be four days old. I’m going to throw it out.

Last night we went to Jamieson’s for dinner and it was amazing. I think it’s my favourite restaurant in the city. The atmosphere, the cocktail selection, the food…. Mmm. We had a mushroom and ricotta bruschetta for a starter and I could not believe the quality of ingredients. I need to learn how to make that at home. Rob ordered the lamb and it was absolutely incredible. Cooked perfectly, the flavours just exploded in my mouth when I stole a bite. It was his first time having lamb and I think it was the best introduction one could have. I had the shrimp and chorizo pasta which was also delicious. Normally I never clear my plate when I order paste because it’s always so heavy and filling. But the chilli sauce was light and spicy, just the perfect amount of heat so I was practically scraping it up with my fork. It was too bad we were too full for dessert because I know the afters menu is equally fantastic. When family eventually starts coming out to visit that is definitely where I’d take them. The whole experience is so beautiful. Maybe we should have our wedding reception there…

It’s almost noon and I still haven’t figured out what to do with my day. Laundry just doesn’t sound all that exciting. I’ve been with Rob so long I’m losing my savvy singleness. I can’t just mope around the house till he gets home. Can I?

Leave a comment